top of page

Chris Cornell - No One Sings Like You Anymore

On December 11, 2020, about three years after Chris Cornell's death, the album "No One Sings Like You Anymore" was released. This was his fifth solo album, featuring 10 cover versions of songs and artists who influenced him.

The album's name is taken from a line in the song "Black Hole Sun" from Cornell's mother band's "Superunknown" album, an immortal line that has best represented Chris Cornell.

It all started with what was supposed to be Chris '56th birthday, so we got the first hint for a new album, in the form of the single "Patience", Cornell's excellent cover version of the song "Guns N' Roses".

A few months later the entire album featuring songs by John Lennon, Harry Nilsson, Carl Hall, Prince, "Electric Light Orchestra", Terry Reid, and more, was released.

The album opens with an electronic rendition of the song "Get It While You Can" by Janis Joplin, continues with a jungle rendition of the song "Jump Into The Fire" by Harry Nilsson, followed by the song "Sad Sad City" by the electro duo Dancing "Ghostland Observatory" as he puts in some acoustic instruments, he infuses a lot of emotion on John Lennon's "Watching The Wheels", gives an interesting interpretation to Carl Hall's "You Don't Know Nothing About Love" and turns the bowels of "Showdown" from "ELO", with a cover version that sits on the beat of a drum machine.

The song that seals the album "Stay With Me Baby" by Lorraine Ellison, was released in 2016 as part of the soundtrack of the excellent series "Vinyl" and in the same year, the song "Nothing Compares 2 U" by Prince was re-recorded by Cornell, especially for the album.

The album was recorded in 2016 by Cornell, who plays all the instruments, along with Brendan O’Brien who also produced and mixed it.

Cornell's children were in the studio during the recordings and described a happy and fun atmosphere, they were given piano lessons and told that Chris and Brendan played computer games.

By the way, anyone who looks at the bottom of the album cover or searches for the album on Apple Music's streaming services will find that it's titled "No One Sings Like You Anymore, Vol. 1", which implies that there is another cover album based on more songs recorded in the same sessions.

Song list:

1. “Get It While You Can” 2. “Jump Into The Fire” 3. “Sad Sad City” 4. “Patience” 5. “Nothing Compares 2 U” 6. “Watching The Wheels” 7. “You Don’t Know Nothing About Love” 8. “Showdown” 9. “To Be Treated Rite” 10. “Stay With Me Baby”

Listen to the album on: Spotify, Apple Music

Follow us on Facebook or Subscribe to our website

"Face/Off" - Israel's Rock Blog & Podcast


Enjoying the Blog? Subscribe to get it right to your mail!

Thank you !!

bottom of page