top of page

Mammoth WVH

On June 11, 2021 "Mammoth WVH" released its self-titled debut album.

"Mammoth WVH" is really a solo project of Wolfgang Van Halen, son of guitarist Eddie Van Halen.

Wolfgang served as bassist for "Van Helen" after its reunion, and even participated in the 2012 reunion album "A Different Kind of Truth". Wolfgang later played with Mark Tremonti's band "Tremonti", recording his two albums "Cauterize" from 2015 and 2016's "Dust".

The name "Mammoth WVH" is based on one of the first names of the band "Van Halen", which in 1972 was called "Mammoth". Wolfgang said he asked permission from his father and uncle Alex Van Halen to use the name, Then he added the letters WVH which are the initials of his name.

Wolfgang wrote all the songs on the album, he sang and played all the instruments on it and he was also the one who produced it. Literally a "One Man Show".

The first single released from the album was "Distance", which Wolfgang dedicated to his father Eddie Van Halen after his death. The song was released in November 2020 and Wolfgang said he had no intention of including it on the album, but after his father's death he decided to include it as a bonus track. The clip for this touching song includes photos of Eddie, Wolfgang and the family.

The second single "You're To Blame" was released in February 2021 and by then it was already clear to us that it was going to be a simple "Explosion" of an album. An overwhelming and amazing song that showcases Wolfgang's abilities.

In the third single "Don't Back Down" Wolfgang proved to everyone what a talented musician he is, with an entertaining clip in which he performs all the singing and playing roles as a one-man-band.

Three more simply excellent singles “Think It Over” and “Feel” released in April 2021 and “Mammoth” released in May.

We can assure you that the remaining 7 songs on the album are excellent. With no fillers or weak moments, we can declare that this is one of our favorite and surprising albums of 2021.

For Listening: Click Here.

Song List:

01. Mr. Ed

02. Horribly Right

03. Epiphany

04. Don't Back Down

05. Resolve

06. You'll Be The One

07. Mammoth

08. Circles

09. The Big Picture

10. Think It Over

11. You're To Blame

12. Feel

13. Stone

14. Distance (bonus track)

Follow us on Facebook or Subscribe to our website

"Face/Off" - Israel's Rock Blog & Podcast


Enjoying the Blog? Subscribe to get it right to your mail!

Thank you !!

bottom of page