top of page

Iron Maiden - Nights Of The Dead, Legacy Of The Beast: Live in Mexico City

On November 20, 2020, Iron Maiden released their live album "Nights Of The Dead, Legacy Of The Beast: Live In Mexico City. The album was recorded during the band's sold-out performances in Mexico City in September 2019.

Well, we really have already stopped counting how many live albums this band has, but they have at least 13 of these, and you're probably wondering why we need another one?

Why? Because "Iron Maiden" is one of the best live acts that exist on this planet, one that burns the stage, unusually excites the audience, spreads insane energies everywhere, and the audience of course returns with a lot of love and madness, that is well expressed here in the recordings from their performances in Mexico City.

Bassist Steve Harris noted that after the massive cancellations of performances for the summer of 2020 following the covid-19, the band felt it needed to compensate their fans, and this album is a kind of consolation for those who expected to see them on stage but were disappointed.

And how did it all start? So, on July 5, 2016, "Iron Maiden" released the "Legacy of the Beast" video game, set in a fictional world inspired by the band's album covers and songs. The game follows the band's mascot Eddie, in a quest to find and locate his shattered soul in order to bring it back. Later the game also became a comic book series, first released on October 31, 2017.

Two weeks later, on November 13, the band announced the world tour of "Legacy of the Beast", which began in Estonia on May 26, 2018. The concept and scenery of the stage on this tour, was even more powerful and grandiose than the previous ones and you already know that with "Iron Maiden "Size does matter". The set was inspired by the various "worlds" that Eddie went through in the various stages of the game.

As for the musical material, it's a "hits" setlist that goes over the band's crazy history. It included several songs that were not played live by the band for many years, most notably "Flight of Icarus", which has been absent from the band's setlists since "Somewhere on Tour" held in 1986-1987.

It was the first tour since the 2000-2001 "Brave New World" tour, which featured two Blaze Bayley songs ("Sign of the Cross" and "The Clansman"), and the first to include any song from that era since the tour that was intended to promote the album "Dance of Death" in 2003-2004, when "Lord of the Flies" was played.

It is interesting to note that the album includes the first official live release of the song "For the Greater Good of God" from the album "A Matter of Life and Death" from 2006.

The album features over 100 minutes of energetic and sweeping performance and all that remains to be said is how the hell did we lose all that good that was supposed to land in our backyard in May 2020?

Song listם:

1. Churchill’s Speech

2. Aces High

3. Where Eagles Dare

4. 2 Minutes To Midnight

5. The Clansman

6. The Trooper

7. Revelations

8. For The Greater Good Of God

9. The Wicker Man

10. Sign Of The Cross

11. Flight Of Icarus

12. Fear Of The Dark

13. Iron Maiden

14. The Number Of The Beast

15. The Evil That Men Do

16. Hallowed Be Thy Name

17. Run To The Hills

Follow us on Facebook or Subscribe to our website

"Face/Off" - Israel's Rock Blog & Podcast


Enjoying the Blog? Subscribe to get it right to your mail!

Thank you !!

bottom of page