top of page

Steve Hackett - Surrender of Silence

Friday Release #110

Listen, Steve Hackett's creative burst in recent years is simply amazing and inspiring. He returns with his 27th solo album "Surrender Of Silence" and this is already his second studio album this year, after the acoustic/instrumental "Under A Mediterranean Sky", released on January 22, 2021.

Similar to "Under A Mediterranean Sea", "Surrender Of Silence" was recorded during theCovid-19 lockdowns and this time Hackett enlisted the help of friends from around the world to contribute to the album. Hackett is accompanied by his regular turig band that includes Roger King (keyboards, programming and orchestral arrangements), Rob Townsend (sax, clarinet), Jonas Reingold (bass), Nad Sylvan (vocals) and Craig Blundell (drums) In addition to the regular lineup Hackett is accompanied this time with Phil Ehart and Nick D'Virgilio (drums), the vocal talents of Amanda Lehmann, Durga and Lorelei McBroom, Christine Townsend (violin, viola), Malik Mansurov (tar) and Sodirkhon Ubaidulloev (dutar).

From the first listen, there are some tracks that are worth paying attention to. "Fox's Tango" with the heavy riff and the short and erupting solos, which was also released as a single about two months ago, "Relaxation Music For Sharks (Featuring Feeding Frenzy)" which evolves from an advanced rock segment to a hard rock track led by the aggressive drumming of Nick D'Virgilio, "Devil's Cathedral" whose opening reminded us of "ELP" and more.

For listening: Spotify, Apple Music

Song List:

“Surrender of Silence” track listing:

1. The Obliterati (02:17)

2. Natalia (06:17)

3. Relaxation Music For Sharks (Featuring Feeding Frenzy) (04:36)

4. Wingbeats (05:20)

5. The Devil’s Cathedral (06:31)

6. Held In The Shadows (06:20)

7. Shanghai To Samarkand (08:27)

8. Fox’s Tango (04:21)

9. Day Of The Dead (06:25)

10. Scorched Earth (06:03)

11. Esperanza (01:04)

Follow us on Facebook or Subscribe to the website

"Face/Off" - Israel's Rock Blog & Radio show, Sundays at 11:00



Enjoying the Blog? Subscribe to get it right to your mail!

Thank you !!

bottom of page